Currency of the Kingdom of Tonga

Discover Tonga
Where is Tonga?
History of the Kingdom of Tonga
Currency of the Kingdom of Tonga
Religion in Tonga
Language in Tonga
Currency of the Kingdom of Tonga

The pa'anga is the currency of Tonga. It is controlled by the National Reserve Bank of Tonga (Pangike Pule Fakafonua 'o Tonga) in Nuku'alofa.

The pa'anga is subdivided into 100 seniti. The ISO code is TOP, and the usual abbreviation is T$ (¢ for seniti). In Tonga the pa'anga is often referred to in English as the dollar and the seniti as the cent. There is also the unit of hau (1 hau = 100 pa'anga) but this is not used in every day life and can only be found on commemorative coins of higher denominations.

Current circulating coins are in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 seniti. The 1 and 2 seniti coins are becoming less common nowadays. In 1967, notes were introduced by the government in denominations of ½, 1, 2, 5 and 10 pa'anga but the ½ pa'anga notes were issued until 1983, with the 20 pa'anga notes introduced in 1985, followed by 50 pa'anga in 1988 and 100 pa'anga introduced in 2008.

If you are wondering "how much is one pa'anga worth"? use the currency converter below:

Check out a currency converter here!

Back to "Discover Tonga"